Award-winning illustration for children's publishing, and the editorial and advertising industries.
Unique and creative designs for manufactured products and the social expression industry.
Creative content and character development for television and film, specializing in the kids’ space.

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere by Elise Gravel

03 Jan 2017

The NYPL’s Recommended List of Middle Grade Fiction Includes Elise Gravel’s Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere

April 25, 2017

The New York Public Library recently released a list of new middle grade fiction that they recommend to young readers. As they write, middle grade fiction is an exciting field these days, with lots of amazing new work being published. Elise Gravel‘s illustrated middle grade novel, Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere is included in this list. A humorous story that tells of a young scientist’s encounter with a mysterious – and stinky – new creature, the NYPL describes Olga as “Cartoony, funny, offbeat.”

The NYPL’s full list of recommendations can be found on their website hereOlga can be purchased here.

Praise for Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere, by Elise Gravel, from the Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

February 6, 2017

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere by Elise Gravel is the humorous story of Olga, an aspiring naturalist, and her discovery of a mysterious, possibly brand new creatures she names Meh. Olga has always liked people more than humans, but she may need help to take care of her strange new friend, particularly when Meh goes missing!

The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books wrote a review of Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere in their February 2017 issue. They praised the adorable, expressive characters of Olga and Meh, as well as the story’s humor. They write, “The style here will be an apt readalike for fans of Wimpy Kid, and Gravel deploys spot art, larger illustrations, word balloons, and chunks of text with great success in the layout.” In the end, they conclude that Olga is, “an obvious sell to fans of animals, but it will also hit a humorous note with anybody who has felt a little left behind by these things we call humans.”

You can read the full review in the Bulletin’s February 2017 issue. Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere is coming out in March and can be pre-ordered online here.

Great Advance Review of Elise Gravel’s Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere From Booklist

January 3rd, 2017

Elise Gravel‘s newest book, Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere, tells the story of an aspiring scientist, Olga, who loves animal and longs to be a zoologist. One day she discovers a mysterious, smelly creature and sets out to discover whether it’s an entirely new, undiscovered animal species. This hilarious book comes out in March of this year, and it already has a great advance review from Booklist! Booklist praises Elise’s, “hilarious comics-style illustrations,” and the equally funny dialogue and narration, which often takes the form of scientific observations. Booklist writes that, “This laugh-out-loud book is a perfect pick for transitioning readers with a penchant for silly stories.”

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere comes out in the spring, but for those who can’t wait, you can pre-order it online here.